Media Foundation Scholarships

Samuel Burk Scholarship

  • This scholarship was established in 1982 by Vera Burk in honor of her late husband, Samuel Burk. Burk served on the Truman Board of Regents from 1973 through 1979, serving a year as president. The Burks founded Kirksville’s KIRX and KRXL radio stations.

Clifton Cornwell Award for Electronic Media

  • This scholarship was established in 1991 by William L. Moore (’34) in honor of his former professor, Clifton Cornwell. A native of Spickard, MO., Cornwell attended Northeast Missouri State Teachers College (now Truman) while also teaching at a number of local rural schools. He became a member of the Truman faculty in 1924 and completed coursework for his Bachelor of Arts degree at Truman in 1925. He earned a Master’s degree from the University of Missouri in 1930. In 1945, he accepted a position as director of public relations with the Kirksville College of Osteopathy and Surgery. He retired from that position in 1961 and was awarded an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree from KCOS. He passed away in 1965. The gift principal of this scholarship endowment was significantly enhanced in 2015 with a major gift from Barry Poyner, PhD, and Catherine Poyner, CPA, of Kirksville, Mo. Dr. Poyner joined the Truman faculty in 1990 and served as a professor of communication. He holds a Bachelor’s degree from David Lipscomb College as well as a Master’s degree and Ph.D. from Louisiana State University. Mrs. Poyner served as an instructor of accounting at Truman. She also began her Truman teaching career in 1990 and retired in 2017. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree from David Lipscomb College and a Master’s degree from Louisiana State University.

Hearst Communication Scholarship

  • The Hearst Scholarships were established in 1986 through a grant from the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The initial grant was the first in a series of gifts made by the Hearst Foundation.


  • In 2003, this scholarship was created through an anonymous donation of $25,000, accepted in the name of KIRX, KRXL, and KTUF. The scholarship was created to support and encourage talented students entering the communications field.

< Back to Communication Scholarships and Work Opportunities